Scent of a Cappuccino

Originally blogged November 8, 2012

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I may not be in Sicily right now, but there is one part of Italian culture that I am enjoying as I am writing this post.  I am sitting at the diningroom table, tapping away on my Macbook’s keyboard and sipping appreciatively at a cappuccino.  After Nick and I returned from Italy two years ago, we knew that we couldn’t go back to the Canadian coffee standard – a Timmie’s double double.  (For those of you who are not Canadian – a Timmie’s double double is a Tim Horton‘s coffee with two cream and two sugars).  We started buying espresso, pulled out our little espresso coffee pot – stained and beat up –  and we began to make espresso every morning. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On mornings when we had time, I would heat up some milk and blend it until it foamed up.  Perhaps not quite the same as steaming the milk, but it is a close second.  Then I would pour in a little of the milk and spoon the foam all over the top of the espresso.  I love a foamy cappuccino!  I haven’t yet figured out a way to make the patterns on the top like you would get from a professional barista.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

It took me a while to find the perfect espresso.  I wanted an espresso with a dark, rich taste, organic and fair trade.  My favourite coffee company, Level Ground Trading, doesn’t have an espresso line, so after doing a little searching I discoveredKicking Horse Coffee.  Kicking Horse has a line called Cliff Hanger Espresso. It is both organic shade grown coffee and certified fair trade. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Even when I don’t have time to make a cappuccino in the morning, I always have time for at least an espresso.  It takes me, even for a few moments, back to Sicily, back to our second home.

 
 
Note:  Since first writing this post, I have discovered that Level Ground Trading (my favourite coffee company) now has espresso!  Bought my first bag last weekend.
2 thoughts on “Scent of a Cappuccino

  1. Mia Zia Elsa (my Aunt Elsa) used to make me coffee like this every morning, when I lived with her, one summer, in Pesaro, Italy. I was 16 years old. I’ve been having my morning cup like this ever since. Thanks for bringing back this wonderful memory to me. Grazie tanto. (man thanks).

Per favore! Tell me what you think...

