I’m Going To Cianciana In My Mind (With Apologies to James Taylor)

It has been some time since I last posted. You may remember the last post was about my friend Bernadette, who passed away in November, just short of her birthday.

 

I have not had the heart to write about or think much about Cianciana since then. The loss of a friend who really epitomized Cianciana kicked the shit out of me in more ways than I even imagined as I was going through it. I have not written about or thought about Italy that much, nor have I studied Italian much since her death as it was just too painful. But, I feel that I am coming out into the sunshine and now, every time I look at the picture of her and Nick and I that sits on the bookshelf in my bedroom, I can picture sitting with her in the sun outside the Bar Trieste, enjoying a gelato and just… being. It is time to move on.  So, with greatest apologies to James Taylor, I offer you a farewell song…

 

Going to Cianciana in My Mind

 

In my mind I’m going to Cianciana
Can’t you see the sunshine?
Can’t you just feel the moonshine?
Ain’t it like that friend of mine
To sit with me, not left behind?
Yes, I’m going to Cianciana in my mind

Bernadette, she was a tough old bird.
She rose up like a firebird.
And as I watch the morning come
A silver tear appearing now
I’m cryin’, ain’t I?
Going to Cianciana in my mind

There ain’t no doubt in no one’s mind
That love’s the finest thing around
Whisper something soft and kind
And hey girl, the sky’s on fire
You were dying, weren’t you?
Going to Cianciana in my mind

In my mind I’m going to Cianciana.
Can’t you see the sunshine?
Can’t you just feel the moonshine?
And, there is one less friend of mine
To sit and watch the sun go down.
Yes, I’m gone to Cianciana in my mind

Dark and silent, late last night,
I think I might have heard Bernadette call
Let go let go, yes, night did fall,
The signs that might be omens say
I’m goin’, I’m goin’
I’m going to Cianciana in my mind

With a holy host of others standin’ around her
I think I’ll leave the dark side of the moon
And I know it don’t go on like this forever
You must forgive me, if I’m up and gone to
Cianciana in my mind

In my mind I’m going to Cianciana
Can’t you see the sunshine?
Can’t you just feel the moonshine?
Ain’t it just like a friend of mine
To leave us all behind
Yes, I’m going to Cianciana in my mind
Gone to Cianciana in my mind
And I’m goin’ to Cianciana in my mind
Goin’ to Cianciana in my mind
Gone, I’m gone, I’m gone
Say nice things about her ’cause she’s gone south now
Got to carry on without her, she’s gone

I’m going to Cianciana with her in my mind

I’m going to Cianciana in my mind

 

4 thoughts on “I’m Going To Cianciana In My Mind (With Apologies to James Taylor)

  1. That was Beautiful, I think James Taylor
    Would be honored that you chose his song to honor your friends passing!
    Live life to the fullest for yourself, Husbans and I know that’s what your friend would have wanted. Celebrate her, Don’t morn her.
    Warm Regards,
    Joya Russo

Per favore! Tell me what you think...

