A Difficult Decision

March 24 – Italian COVID-19 numbers:

Corona virus cases: 63,927

Deaths: 6077

Recovered: 7432

airplane wing towards clouds

Photo by Sheila on Pexels.com

Two days ago, we got a message from our travel agent in Canada saying that we needed to get back before March 31, so yesterday morning I began to look for flights both for my husband and myself and for our daughter who has been working in Scotland for the past 2 years.

This was a very difficult decision.  Sicily is as much our home as Canada is.  We love this country, island, and village, and even more than this, we love our community.  The writing, however, was on the wall.

Originally, our plan was for our daughter to join us in Sicily and we would all go back to Canada together at the end of May.  I was going to go to Edinburgh to help her with the final pack up and to support her as she left a country she has come to love.  Even before there was any hint of a lockdown, we struggled to get a flight.

#1 – flights Palermo – Milan – Edinburgh and back…cancelled

#2 – ferry between Malta and Sicily – flights Malta – Edinburgh and back…cancelled

#3 – flight just for her Edinburgh – Rome and then bus or train to Sicily…flight cancelled

Then the lockdown happened, and it became very clear that she would have to fly directly back to Canada.

#4 – Glasgow – Toronto – Vancouver…cancelled

It was at this point we got the email from the travel agent and we realize we all had to go back home.  Justin Trudeau, the Embassy, and everyone in the government were saying that Canadians must get back home.  Sicily was one of the places in Italy least hit by the virus and Nick and I were thinking that perhaps we would be safe in Cianciana.  Even today, there has not been a single case in Cianciana, however, some of the towns and villages around us have. Ribera, Montellegro have all had cases and a doctor of radiology in the hospital in Sciacca also contracted the virus.  As of today, we now have 721 cases in Sicily.  The feeling of safety has been eroding.  We reluctantly made the decision that we had to go and on Saturday, our daughter will be flying from Edinburgh and Nick and I will be flying from Palermo.  As they say in Italy… nelle mani di Dio.

photo of a person leaning on wooden window

Photo by Dương Nhân on Pexels.com

Next post…The emotional toll of COVID-19

One thought on “A Difficult Decision

  1. Diane and Nick, I know how wonderful that community is, I loved walking at night in the town ‘center’, having gelatto and waving at the tables of men surveying the walkers and shoppers. I loved the balcony and the view of the other households enjoying the night air, hanging clothes, or just hanging out. I loved looking out of the window at the narrow street and it’s interesting traffic and noises. The sense of community is so very strong, and it must be very painful to have to leave. I was talking of you two this morning to someone in my building (in the foyer while I was retrieving my mail ,vitamins, only face to face person I’ve seen, and at a safe distance of course) , and thinking of your deep love and involvement in Cianciana . I am sorry this is the path you must take. I have a daughter in Phoenix finishing a two year pediatric dentistry program and wonder (and worry) what she’s going to do. She lives with her fiance, an American. We are a global world and we are in crisis. I wish you a safe journey and good health, all of you. When you return, there are folks, myself included who can help you get the supplies you need as you ‘shelter’ in place, quarantine-wise. So many new terms we are using. Stay safe. Know that you are loved in both places. G.

Per favore! Tell me what you think...