COVID-19 and Mental Health

COVID-19 numbers in Italy today:

Number of cases: 124,632

Number of deaths: 15,362

Number recovered: 20,996

Number of cases in Sicily: 1859

white and brown wooden tiles

Photo by Suzy Hazelwood on Pexels.com

I have not written anything for awhile and for that, I apologize.  I wrote previously about the emotional toll and that I had reached a point where I had let go of trying to control the situation and was feeling much better, but as I had said, this situation is a roller coaster.  The day after our flight was cancelled, I started trying to contact Expedia to see about a refund for the cancelled tickets.  For a week I tried phoning, using their chatbot to contact an agent, DMing them on twitter, and tweeting to them directly over and over. I got no response.   All of these tickets were sitting on my husband’s credit card and as we got closer to the payment date, I became more and more stressed and anxious.  To add to the stress, my daughter had not heard about the extension to her visa and the end date kept creeping closer.  Then on Wednesday, a week after our tickets had been cancelled, I was hit by a tsunami of anxiety.  I had battled and won the fight against anxiety about 20 years ago, so I am familiar with the feeling, but I had never faced anxiety like this.  I shut down completely for two days.  I knew that I needed help, but my husband’s doctor here is the next town over and we can not leave our town (I do not have a doctor here as I am not a citizen or a resident).  Finally, I called a friend who had a prescription for Xanax.  Normally I would NEVER take any medication that a doctor had not prescribed, nor would I EVER  recommend that anyone do so, but I was desperate.  She kindly gave me one, and, after checking on drug interactions with what I already take, I took it.  It knocked me flat for a full day, and when I woke up on the Friday, the anxiety was knocked back – not completely gone, but manageable.  Then I opened my email to find an email from Expedia.  We are not getting a refund, but we are getting a credit.  Not perfect, but something we will be able to use.  Then, I got a call from my daughter.  She had received a document from the Canadian consulate in Edinburgh that would allow her to stay and her contact at the consulate said to her that the UK offices dealing with visa extensions were so swamped that she likely wouldn’t hear back even though she had certainly been granted the extension.  In the space of 24 hours, I went from the worst anxiety I had ever experienced to complete relief.  Will I stay this way?  Who knows.  Who knows what is around the corner with this terrible situation.

I know that I am not the only one who is suffering from this lockdown.  The World Health Organization has made the following recommendations to people under lockdown to help maintain their mental health.

Stay connected and maintain your social networks.

Try as much as possible to keep your personal daily routines or create new routines if circumstances change.

If health authorities have recommended limiting your physical social contact to contain the outbreak, you can stay connected via telephone, e-mail, social media or video conference.

If you have an underlying health condition, make sure to have access to any medications that you are currently using. Activate your social contacts to provide you with assistance, if needed.

During times of stress, pay attention to your own needs and feelings.

Engage in healthy activities that you enjoy and find relaxing.

Exercise regularly, keep regular sleep routines and eat healthy food.

Keep things in perspective.

Public health agencies and experts in all countries are working on the outbreak to ensure the availability of the best care to those affected

A near-constant stream of news reports about an outbreak can cause anyone to feel anxious or distressed.

Seek information updates and practical guidance at specific times during the day from health professionals and WHO website and avoid listening to or following rumours that make you feel uncomfortable. Facts can help to minimize fears.

Minimize watching, reading or listening to news about COVID-19 that causes you to feel anxious or distressed; seek information only from trusted sources and mainly so that you can take practical steps to prepare your plans and protect yourself and loved ones.

 

3 thoughts on “COVID-19 and Mental Health

  1. I am so glad to hear from/about you and Nick, and your daughter. I have a daughter in Phoenix and don’t know a lot about her situation. I’ve trusted the Universe before when one of my other daughters was an infantry soldier in Afghanistan, so I will continue to trust the Universe again for her in Phoenix and my other dear friends not close to home. We ARE all feeling anxiety and many times it’s music that lifts me up. I watch silly animated cartoons. I marvel at people’s creativity on the internet. I am familiar with the wonderful mind space that happens when creating. Everyone, try creating something, anything that calls you, and trust in your own talents.
    Thinking of you …especially when I am banging pots at 7 pm, joining the local cacophony in recognition of all those working for our best health outcomes.

  2. Hi Diane,
    I really like your blog! We are considering buying a house in Cianciana and I wanted to ask if we can have a chat or private email conversation?
    We are a young family, we have 3 years old son ale found what we think is a great little house for us.
    Can I contact you somehow and ask a few questions?

    • Hi Marie,
      So sorry that I have taken so long to get back to you. Yes, of course I’m always happy to talk about all aspects of Cianciana, including buying a house. If you go on FB and send me – Diane (Gallagher) Cacciato – a message through messenger, I’m happy to answer questions or chat – If I’m not too late that is.

Per favore! Tell me what you think...